We’re moving office! From 22 July, our address will be Level 22, 2 Southbank Boulevard, Southbank.
Find out more

New Commission Chairperson of Energy Safe Victoria announced 26 July

Monique Conheady has been appointed as the new Commission Chairperson of Energy Safe Victoria.

Wednesday 26 July 2023 at 4:52 am
A photograph of Monique Conheady.

Monique Conheady has been appointed as the new Commission Chairperson of Energy Safe Victoria.

Minister for Energy & Resources, Climate Action and the State Electricity Commission, Lily D’Ambrosio, announced the appointment today.

Monique was a co-founder of Flexicar and a former executive at Hertz Australia. She is also an experienced non-executive director/chair of various government agencies and innovative start-ups, including JET Charge, which is a leading provider of electric vehicle charging infrastructure, and Phantm, a natural materials solutions lab. In addition to this, she co-founded the crowd-funded energy retailer DC Power Co and is a venture partner at Wavemaker Impact, a business that seeks to fund sustainability start-ups to create a portfolio that has the goal of reducing 10% of the global carbon budget by 2035.

Monique is no stranger to complex government regulatory environments. She was a Commissioner at the Taxi Services Commission and chaired the Audit and Risk Management Committee until 2019 and then Chairperson at Commercial Passenger Vehicles Victoria until 2022. She is currently a sitting member of the Governing Board at the Environmental Protection Authority where she’s also chaired the People and Culture Committee.

In addition to her extensive professional appointments, Monique is also a Senior Industry Fellow with RMIT Forward, RMIT University's Centre for Future Skills and Workforce Transformation and a mentor at EnergyLab, a clean energy transition start-up accelerator.

Monique will be instrumental in driving forward Energy Safe’s transformation agenda, as we meet the safety challenges inherent in Victoria’s transition to renewable energy. Energy Safe Victoria will welcome her officially from 1 August 2023.